In person
In 2023, the 14th edition of CBSoft will once again be held in person, from September 25th to 29th on Campo Grande, Mato Grosso do Sul👉 Map

17th Brazilian Symposium on Software Components, Architectures, and Reuse


The Brazilian Symposium on Software Components, Architectures, and Reuse (SBCARS) is promoted by the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC) and brings together researchers, students, and professionals with a wide range of interests in topics related to Software Engineering, including software product lines, component-based software development, software architecture, and software reuse. Started in 2007, SBCARS is the successor to the series of six Brazilian Workshops on Component-Based Development (WDBC), started in 2001, so its 16 editions already held have contributed to its consolidation in the national scientific calendar as an important technical-scientific event in the software area. In 2023, SBCARS will once again be held in person.

Datas Importantes

Paper registration (abstract submission):July 12, 2023 July 17, 2023
Full paper submission:July 20, 2023 July 25, 2023
Acceptance notification:August 24, 2023 August 26, 2023
Camera-ready:August 31, 2023 September 3, 2023
Conference:September 25, 2027

Topics of Interest

Submissions related (but not limited) to the following topics will be accepted:
  • Agile software architecture and design
  • Aspect-oriented software development and software modularity
  • Component-based software engineering
  • Design patterns
  • Domain analysis and engineering
  • Generative programming and domain-specific languages
  • Mining software repositories
  • Model-driven engineering
  • Program repair
  • Program transformation and refactoring
  • Open-source software reuse and variability
  • Service-oriented architectures (SOA) and service-based development
  • Software analysis, comprehension, and reconstruction
  • Software architecture
  • Software evolution
  • Software metrics
  • Software product lines
  • Software reuse (including technical and non-technical issues)
  • Variability management
Experimental studies (controlled experiments, case studies, systematic reviews), experience reports, theoretical contributions, articles related to education, tools, and methods related to all the above topics are also of interest.

Submission Format

Submitted papers can be written in Portuguese or English. Papers written in Portuguese must be submitted with the title, abstract, and keywords written in English. English submissions are strongly encouraged, as the symposium proceedings will be indexed by the ACM Digital Library. At least one author of each accepted paper must register for CBSoft 2023 and present the paper at the symposium, otherwise the paper will not be included in the proceedings.
It is strongly recommended that authors check previously published papers in past editions of SBCARS to reference them as related works whenever applicable. This can motivate and enhance discussions among researchers working in the same area during the symposium. Papers published in previous editions of SBCARS are available at DBLP.
All submissions must be in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) and must conform to the ACM two-column format (ACM_SigConf) available at this link. LaTeX users should use the acmart.cls class provided in the template, with the conference format enabled in the preamble of the document:
Additionally, the ACM-Reference-Format.bst bibliography style provided in the template should be used:
Papers should not exceed 10 pages, including figures, tables, and references. Submissions that do not comply with the required format or are outside the technical scope will be rejected without review. Submitted papers will be reviewed by at least three reviewers based on their originality, relevance, technical quality, and clarity of presentation.
The SBCARS 2023 will employ a triple-blind review process. Submitted papers should not reveal the authors' identities in any way.
  • Authors must remove their names and affiliations from the body of their submission.
  • Authors must ensure that any citation to their own related work is written in the third person, i.e., "the previous work of XYZ" instead of "our previous work."
  • Authors should avoid providing URLs to sites that reveal the authorship of the paper (tools, datasets). The paper may mention the existence of these sites, but their consultation should not be necessary to conduct the review.
  • Authors should anonymize the names of companies that reveal the authorship of the paper but may provide general characteristics of the organizations involved that are necessary for understanding the context of the paper.
Papers should be submitted electronically through the JEMS system. When submitting the paper, authors should specify the language of their paper with a prefix in the paper's title field on the submission platform. The title of papers in English should begin with "[EN]" and the title of papers in Brazilian Portuguese should begin with "[PT]". This ensures that the paper is assigned to a reviewer who is capable of reviewing it.

Best Paper Award and Special Edition

The three best papers will be invited for a special edition in the Journal of Software Engineering, Research and Development (JSERD).

Keynote Speaker

  • Roberta Arcoverde (link)


Program Committee Chair
Vinicius Cardoso Garcia (UFPE, Brazil)
SBCARS Steering Comittee
Vinicius Cardoso Garcia (UFPE, Brazil)
Thelma Elita Colanzi (UEM, Brazil)
Rodrigo Bonifácio (UnB, Brazil)
Gustavo Pinto (UFPA, Brazil)
Leopoldo Teixeira (UFPE, Brazil)
SBCARS Program Committee
Adenilso Simao (ICMC-USP, Brazil)
Aline Amaral (UEM, Brazil)
Ana Carla Bibiano (PUC-Rio, Brazil)
Breno de França (UNICAMP, Brazil)
Bruno Cafeo (UNICAMP, Brazil)
Bruno Cartaxo (IFPE, Brazil)
Carla Bezerra (UFC, Brazil)
Claudio Sant`Anna (UFBA, Brazil)
Daniel Lucrédio (UFSCar, Brazil)
Edna Canedo (UNB, Brazil)
Edson OliveiraJr (UEM, Brazil)
Eduardo Almeida (UFBA, Brazil)
Eduardo Figueiredo (UFMG, Brazil)
Eldânae Teixeira (IC/CCMN/UFRJ, Brazil)
Elder José Cirilo (UFSJ, Brazil)
Elisa Nakagawa (USP, Brazil)
Emanoel Barreiros (UPE, Brazil)
Fabio Petrillo (École de Technologie Supérieure, Brazil)
Fernando Trinta (UFC, Brazil)
Henrique RebĂŞlo (UFPE, Brazil)
Isabel Azevedo (ISEP, Brazil)
Ivan Machado (UFBA, Brazil)
Jair Leite (UFRN, Brazil)
Kiev Gama (UFPE, Brazil)
Larissa Soares (UEFS, Brazil)
Leopoldo Teixeira (UFPE, Brazil)
Lina Garcés (UNIFEI, Brazil)
Lincoln Rocha (UFC, Brazil)
Luciana Zaina (UFSCar, Brazil)
Marcelo Maia (UFU, Brazil)
Roberta Coelho (UFRN, Brazil)
Rodrigo Andrade (UFAPE, Brazil)
Rodrigo Bonifacio (UNB, Brazil)
Rodrigo Santos (UNIRIO, Brazil)
Rohit Gheyi (UFCG, Brazil)
Rosana Braga (ICMC-USP, Brazil)
Thelma Colanzi (UEM, Brazil)
Tiago Massoni (UFCG, Brazil)
Toacy Oliveira (COPPE/UFRJ, Brazil)
Uirá Kulesza (UFRN, Brazil)
Valter Camargo (UFSCAR, Brazil)
Vinicius Garcia (UFPE, Brazil)


For more information, please refer to the conference website ( or contact Prof. Vinicius Cardoso Garcia (, the Program Chair.